I don’t know how to cook eggs

Talk about all kinds of cooking

I don’t know how to cook eggs

Postby Folly » Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:58 pm

Even though I am an experienced cook, I don’t eat eggs, and don’t have a clue about the basics. I even have to pull out a cookbook every time I boil an egg for molding -- and then I have to ask someone else if it turned out!

This morning I made a 1-egg tamagoyaki for my husband’s bento. I followed a recipe – all the way up to the point of the fold. I used an oil-brushed non-stick Japanese tamagoyaki pan on low heat. The egg mxture stuck and wouldn’t fold. It looked so bad that I put it into an onigiri mold to mask my mistake. And it was so wet and oily that I had to pat it dry with a paper towel.

Can anyone give me some tips about working with eggs? Or is it the pan? This is also my first non-stick pan.
Last edited by Folly on Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Folly

Re: I don’t know how to cook eggs

Postby smoke » Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:23 pm

I favor a well-seasoned cast-iron pan when I make eggs, preferably right after removing some bacon from it.

I was reading a blog linked through foodgawker recently about the perfect scrambled eggs. They say to heat a dry pan up to a good temperature, then melt butter until it bubbles. Hot pan and hot fat are probably a good start. I tend to avoid non-solid fats, or very lightly introduce them to the pan.

I'm not good at hard-boiled eggs, just very lucky. I start with cold water, add the eggs, bring it up to boiling, kill the heat while covering them. Then I let the eggs sit in the hot water until I think about them, then throw them into cold water. One egg from the batch gets ripped apart to make sure that the cooking was successful.

Oven recipes seem the most dead-simple when working with eggs. Go quiche instead of soffle.